Chipotle doing good

ChipotleThe last time I had a Chipotle burrito, I nearly cried. Too spicy for my wimpy palate. (And they were owned by McDonald’s then.) After reading about the restaurant and it’s related foundation, I decided to give them another try. My husband and I split a bean burrito with chips and salsa.

Chipotle uses local food and ethically-raised animals. (though they still buy animals for people to enjoy, you can get a meatless meal) They support family farms and are partnered with inspiring movements like Farm Aid and Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution. They saw what factory farms have to offer, and they have rejected it in favor of better food and community engagement.

I’m really inspired by how they are committed to supporting local farmers and using better ingredients. I am, however, disappointed that there are no women on the Chiptole Cultivate Foundation board. There’s a real opportunity to set an example by being more inclusive and open-minded. Also on my wish list… less fattening food! Some students have a Chipotle burrito and chips as a snack before dinner. Yowch! Those calories are taking their toll on kids and families (and our health care system!).

This video explains their mission, and got me on a Willie Nelson kick that is still going after 3 months. Love.

About Terra Milo

Terra Milo is Your Computer Girl. She believes that technology runs on energy, so when you're creating websites and emails, you are literally sending energy to your potential clients. Make sure that energy is confident, positive, and enlightening! Terra teaches coaches and entrepreneurs all the computer skills they need to launch their business and spread their mission in the world. From websites to newsletters to social media, she will empower you with skills and confidence so you can infuse your messages with inspiration and love. www.terramilo.com

2 thoughts on “Chipotle doing good

    • Thanks, Ann. It’s nice that Chipotle is a more ethical choice, and is available in more places. I’ve always considered Subway my best option, but they don’t have a commitment to family farms or locally-grown food. I’m changing my mind about Chipotle. It was still a little spicy though. lol

      I do plan to join the next potluck! I’ll sign up.

Your kind thoughts...

