Healers in your backyard

One of the great things I learned when I was in Nelsonville a few weekends ago was how many natural healers can be found in our backyard. Everything that grows has a purpose. Sure, there are some we don’t like, but others are very beneficial. Here are a few of my recent favorites.

Stinging nettle

Stinging nettle is a weed that grows in Ohio. Auntie Mame wrote a great post about the benefits of nettle. I haven’t found any in my yard (and I’m not that confident that I could identify it), so I buy nettle tea. But, if you have some, you can dry it and make your own nettle tea. Nettle tea is great for allergies! I drink some every day and it has definitely helped my allergies more than pills do (especially since nearly all allergy pills contain lactose). Mr drinks it and feels immediate allergy relief. It’s also good for the metabolism and creating energy.

jewelweed

jewelweed

Jewelweed

This is a healer. It can heal mosquito bites and sunburns. When I got a sunburn and we didn’t have any aloe nearby, I mashed up some jewelweed and spread it on my burns like aloe. It definitely provided some relief. I’m going to try it on mosquito bites too. Jewelweed grows in our metro parks, and in my backyard. It’s invasive, but it pulls out pretty easily. The flowers remind me of irises.

Mint

Ok, so you may have planted mint, but it grows like a weed. I love mint in milkshakes. It’s also very cooling and healing. Of course, you can use mint as a breath freshener, but it’s also good for digestion, relieving headaches, and more. Organicfacts breaks it down.

About Terra Milo

Terra Milo is Your Computer Girl. She believes that technology runs on energy, so when you're creating websites and emails, you are literally sending energy to your potential clients. Make sure that energy is confident, positive, and enlightening! Terra teaches coaches and entrepreneurs all the computer skills they need to launch their business and spread their mission in the world. From websites to newsletters to social media, she will empower you with skills and confidence so you can infuse your messages with inspiration and love. www.terramilo.com

Your kind thoughts...

