Oh Neti pot, how I love you

my neti potThis allergy season has been a real doozy. I’ve had everything from heartburn to sneezing and my Neti pot has been there with me through it all, keeping my sinuses clean (for a few minutes at least), and making sure I don’t get a cold. I normally do the Neti pot every day through cold season and it really helps keep the germs away. It also helps sinus headaches or sinus pressure.

Neti pots have been around for centuries, and became popular in the U.S. fairly recently. Many people use it to get rid of congestion and facial pressure.

Research backs up these claims, finding that nasal irrigation can be an effective way to relieve sinus symptoms when used along with standard sinus treatments.

WebMD

You can read the scientific and biological reasons for using the Neti pot over at WebMD. Basically, the saline solution used with the Neti pot helps your nasal passages work more efficiently and effectively. Dr. Oz loves Neti pots too.

Although you can buy Neti pot solutions, you can just mix 1/4 tsp baking soda with 1/4 tsp salt in 1 cup of water and put it in your Neti pot to flush out those allergens and irritants. Remember to use boiled water. I usually pour out a cup of water from my teapot before I make tea in the morning. That way, I’m getting boiled  water, but not boiling  water. (I heat my water for about 20 seconds in the microwave, so it’s not too cold, then add the baking soda and salt.)

There are many beautiful Neti pots out there, and you can get them at drug stores or health food stores. Mine is boring blue plastic because all the stores were sold out of the ceramic ones and I needed one in a jiffy. I love that elephant Neti pot!

If you want a real laugh today, check out Neti pot videos on YouTube. After using the Neti pot for a few months, you won’t even flinch, but in the beginning, it’s quite awkward.

About Terra Milo

Terra Milo is Your Computer Girl. She believes that technology runs on energy, so when you're creating websites and emails, you are literally sending energy to your potential clients. Make sure that energy is confident, positive, and enlightening! Terra teaches coaches and entrepreneurs all the computer skills they need to launch their business and spread their mission in the world. From websites to newsletters to social media, she will empower you with skills and confidence so you can infuse your messages with inspiration and love. www.terramilo.com

One thought on “Oh Neti pot, how I love you

Your kind thoughts...

