Virtual Vegan Potluck: Cheesy Oozy Guacamole Bean Dip

It’s Virtual Vegan Potluck day! What a really fantastic idea. More than 65 bloggers have come together to make vegan food to share at a virtual vegan potluck. Feast your eyes on delicious, plant-based, and healthy appetizers, beverages, salads, breads, mains, sides, soups, and desserts. I’m sure you’ll find some good food to “sample” and I think we’ll all leave with new blogger-friends and recipes. (If you want to start at the beginning, head over to Vegan Bloggers Unite!)

I made Cheesy Oozy Guacamole Bean Dip from The Kind Diet, by Alicia Silverstone. We invited Britt and her husband to come help us eat it because, if left unattended, I will eat this whole thing myself. All of it. And then my pants don’t fit for a week. Trust me. It’s happened.

Fortunately, they came and we all enjoyed some fantastic food. Feast your eyes on this fresh produce, beans, and all-around deliciousness.

Tomatoes and avocados

All the ingredients. I love how fresh this recipe is.

Avocados

The dip, constructed

Finally, I get to eat it!

Cheesy Oozy Guacamole Bean Dip
  • 1 can (16 ounces) refried beans
  • 3 large avocados
  • 3 Tbsp. fresh lime juice
  • 12-16 oz. nondairy sour cream
  • 1/2 packet taco seasoning
  • 1/2 cup sliced black olives, or more if you like
  • 4 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 package Daiya shredded vegan cheddar cheese (her recipe calls for 2 cups, but I’m over cheese, so I don’t need that much)

The original recipe calls for a few more spicy ingredients that I don’t include. Even though I think Alicia Silverstone and I are kindred spirits, I don’t have permission to post this recipe, so I’m going to send you to Oprah’s site for the full recipe. Also, Alicia and Laura Linney made a video about making this dip and it’s super cute. (Be sure to come back for the rest of the Virtual Vegan Potluck!)

Go forward to Veg Hot Pot
>>>>

Go back to iatelunch
<<<<

Start at the beginning, Vegan Bloggers Unite!

About Terra Milo

Terra Milo is Your Computer Girl. She believes that technology runs on energy, so when you're creating websites and emails, you are literally sending energy to your potential clients. Make sure that energy is confident, positive, and enlightening! Terra teaches coaches and entrepreneurs all the computer skills they need to launch their business and spread their mission in the world. From websites to newsletters to social media, she will empower you with skills and confidence so you can infuse your messages with inspiration and love. www.terramilo.com

28 thoughts on “Virtual Vegan Potluck: Cheesy Oozy Guacamole Bean Dip

    • I found the Tofutti sour cream near the dairy free cream cheese. It’s delicious! The recipe calls for 2 8oz. tubs but I got a 12 oz. tub and it couldn’t have been better.

      Your dish is beautiful! And so tasty. I’m always looking for things to do with kohlrabi, since it grows easily here and I see it at the farmers market often. Thanks for the inspiring recipe!

    • Thanks! I haven’t had many dairy free alternatives except milk before but last night I had a pavlova with soya cream so now I want to try everything else. It’s the sort of thing you could serve up to a party with non vegans n everyone would still be very happy! Definitely will try that πŸ™‚
      Thankyou so much for your kind comments, its so nice to have feedback from other bloggers! That’s the first time I’ve ever tried kohlrabi so will have to try it again. any serving suggestions would be welcome πŸ™‚ x

    • I’ve already had to force myself to put it away. Good thing we’re running out of chips!

      It’s really cheesy and oozy, but still fresh and flavorful.

    • It’s hard to resist!

      Your sweet potatoes look delicious. (I updated by “go back” link to your post because the other blogger didn’t post anything.)

  1. This dip is always my most favourite part of any potluck… it’s always there. These days I try to stay away from it. So nice to see a vegan version! I could eat the whole thing!

    • We just finished the rest of it!
      I might just make your lentil olive tapenade tomorrow night. Great idea. : )

    • It’s hard to resist doing that. (Although the chips are no friend to my waist, so maybe a spoon would be better!)

  2. Pingback: Kohlrabi, Radish and Carrot ‘Ceviche’: Virtual Vegan Potluck « veghotpot

Your kind thoughts...

