Castile Soap

I discovered the wonders of Castile soap about two years ago. I don’t know why it took me so long, but I’m glad I found it. Castile soap is wonderful in so many ways.

Castile soapEndless uses

Castile soap can be used for

  • shampoo
  • laundry
  • facial cleanser (if you’re not doing the
    oil cleansing method!)
  • body wash
  • toothpaste?!
  • cleaning

The Castile Soap FAQ page has more details.

Environmental responsibility

The real magic in Castile soap is its gentle, earth-friendly ingredients. It’s certified fair trade, which means it’s people-friendly too. They call it “Constructive Capitalism,” which means they share profits with the workers and the earth.

All of the oils used to make the soap are organic. Though they use palm oil, it’s grown on decades-old plantations in Africa, not newly planted, a.k.a. clear-cut forests.

Castile soap is not tested on animals. And it’s 100% vegan, packaged in a 100% post-consumer recycled plastic bottle. (I like to buy the big one and put it into smaller, reusable containers.)

My experience

I used Castile soap as body wash, face wash, and laundry a few years ago. To be honest, I was a little disappointed with the film that was left in my sink and tubs. However, I’m back to using Castile soap as a body wash. (I have another eco laundry method that I’ll post later.) I can put up with a little film, knowing that I’m using a product that matches so many of my values. Though the bottles seem expensive (maybe because I buy the big one to reduce packaging), it lasts forever and it’s just so good for you, the workers who make it, and the planet.

Check out Dr. Bronner’s website for all the details.

About Terra Milo

Terra Milo is Your Computer Girl. She believes that technology runs on energy, so when you're creating websites and emails, you are literally sending energy to your potential clients. Make sure that energy is confident, positive, and enlightening! Terra teaches coaches and entrepreneurs all the computer skills they need to launch their business and spread their mission in the world. From websites to newsletters to social media, she will empower you with skills and confidence so you can infuse your messages with inspiration and love. www.terramilo.com

8 thoughts on “Castile Soap

  1. Great post. This is all I use, and I love it. It has so many uses and I was able to replace all cleaning and some personal use products such as shampoo and soap, with it. From cleaning the house, the pets, the cars, the plants, to cleaning yourself this is all you need for sure. It will save people money as long as you know how to dilute it properly. Like you, I don’t know what took me so long to find it.

    • I’m going to keep finding more uses for it. Thanks for sharing! I’ll have to look into how to dilute it, especially for shampoo.

    • This is what I go by, and I got it from their website, then I adjust depending on how I like it.

      For light cleaning jobs – 1 part of soap to 40 parts of water
      For medium jobs – 1 part of soap to 1 part of water

      For tough or heavy duty cleaning – Don’t dilute or use more.

      This helps me a lot, and gives me a better idea of how to dilute it for other things depending on how tough the cleaning job is 🙂

  2. We sell it in bulk at our store. You can refill your own container. Cheaper and more ecological. Maybe somewhere around there sells it in bulk?

  3. According to Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soaps website, Dr. Bronner’s soaps have been on the market for decades, enjoying a huge boom in sales during the 1960s and remaining popular today. This popularity is for good reason, since the soaps have several unique qualities that make them popular among both eco-conscious and vegan consumers. Dr. Bronner’s castile soaps are made from vegetable oil rather than animal fat, they are organic, and the highly concentrated nature of these soaps leads to longer-term usage and fewer disposed bottles in the long run. Unfortunately, Dr. Bronner does not offer a shampoo; the good news is that the castile soaps can be diluted for use as hair shampoo or body wash in just a few steps.

Your kind thoughts...

