Spring Cleaning!

It’s that time of year! It really is quite funny how excited I am about cleaning my house but this year, besides getting everything sparkling clean, I had a new mission in mind. To actually do it all… and do it naturally!

Before I set out on this journey, I did some research for the best “recipes” for homemade cleaning products. I found two really great cleaning sprays, a furniture dusting spray and a multi-purpose cleaner.

Multi-purpose Cleaner

  • Mix equal parts water and vinegar
  • a few drops of essential oil

Since I try not to be wasteful, I reused my spray bottle from my Green Works cleaning spray that recently ran out and 4 cups water and 4 cups vinegar nearly filled it up. I also added some lemon essential oil to help cover up the vinegar smell. In the future I may add more seeing as my grandpa asked me later in the day what I had been doing with vinegar.

Furniture Dusting Spray

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp lemon essential oil
  • 1/4 cup vinegar
  • 1 3/4 cup water

I bought a spray bottle for this since I did not have one on hand. Overall, this new experiment cost me so much less than going out and buying harmful cleaning products. For an idea of the cost let me share this with you…

  • Vinegar- $3 for a gallon bottle
  • Lemon Essential Oil- $4.99 from a local store or you can find oils on Amazon ( and you only use a couple drops for an entire bottle so it will last for years)
  • Olive Oil- already had on hand for cooking
  • Extra Spray Bottle- $1

Will I be doing this again? You betcha!!! Everything looks so amazing and clean. I think it is important to also note that the vinegar smell doesn’t linger (well maybe on your hands a little). Best part? It is completely non-toxic and my little children (aka pets) are safe too!

See doesn’t she seem happy about it?

Now let’s see…. what other cleaners can I make myself…

5 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning!

  1. I applaud you for this. I like your blog, and wish more people would follow your footsteps. Since I switch to making my own products I don’t think I will ever go back to the store for more. I takes a bit of fun work, but you can actually make pretty much everything you use for cleaning and personal care. I love a website called the Colorful Canary http://www.colorfulcanary.com/ and she has tons of great recipes and videos on how to make them. I even make my own makeup now and the next step for me will be to grow the plants needed for the extracts to make the products. Once I got into it I was amazed at how easy to make this stuff was.

  2. I started writing this, remembering my grandma cleaning the house with a rag and her large white enameled metal pan filled with vinegar and water — the smell was so pungent. And as I thought about the smell, I realized it was probably diluted ammonia. Oops!

    You’re vinegar solution is what she should have been using — far less toxic & organic.

  3. I’m so glad Britt’s back! And I commend her for actually polishing her furniture! Mine is lucky to get dusted. lol

    I clean with vinegar and water too, and it really works. It’s so much better for the pets. They don’t have to wonder about strange smells and chemicals.
    I’ve never bought ammonia, Alex. It scares me. ; )

Your kind thoughts...

