Will you unplug?

Today is the National Day of Unplugging. It started last night at sundown and goes until sundown tonight. (I missed it, so maybe I’ll try it tomorrow.) The idea is to get away from our glowing screens and reconnect with each other.

Shut down your computer,” the pledge states. “Turn off your cell phone. Stop the constant emailing, texting, tweeting and Facebooking to take time to notice the world around you. Connect with loved ones. Nurture your health. Get outside. Find silence. Avoid commerce. Give back. Eat Together.”

Can you live without your phone? Twitter? Facebook? Blogging? Email? Shopping? Pinning?

I’ll admit, I’m hooked on Twitter and Instagram, and my iPod is basically an extension of my hand. But I took the Facebook app off my iPod, so that’s no problem. Email, phone, shopping… easy to avoid for a day. Sadly, I have papers to grade and they’re all on the computer. Maybe I’ll pledge discipline to get those papers graded (without my online distractions extending the process) and spend more time with my family. I can make that pledge. Tomorrow.

Do you ever unplug?

About Terra Milo

Terra Milo is Your Computer Girl. She believes that technology runs on energy, so when you're creating websites and emails, you are literally sending energy to your potential clients. Make sure that energy is confident, positive, and enlightening! Terra teaches coaches and entrepreneurs all the computer skills they need to launch their business and spread their mission in the world. From websites to newsletters to social media, she will empower you with skills and confidence so you can infuse your messages with inspiration and love. www.terramilo.com

3 thoughts on “Will you unplug?

    • It’s a great idea. I would love to try it too. I’m pretty sure my cat hates my iPod (if I’m on the iPod, I’m not paying attention to her), so I’ve tried to cut back. But I’m a tech geek… it’s tough.
      I might try turning everything off at 8pm every night.

      If you do it, let me know how it goes. : )

    • That’s probably more realistic for me, too – turning everything off at a certain time, though I now read on my iPad, so…But I’d like to try it. I never thought of myself as a techie geek, but I am in a way and definitely too reliant on gizmos. Yes, let me know how it goes for you, too!

Your kind thoughts...

