Vitamin D

Apparently, most of us don’t get enough vitamin D. Skin cancer scares have made most people slather on the sunscreen any time they’re outside. This is good, because pale is the new tan, but we need vitamin D, which we get from the sun. Here’s my solution – when I go to the pool, I lay out for 15 minutes on each side and then put sunscreen on for the rest of the time. I am as pale as pale can be, so I feel like the 15 minutes gives me a little prevention-protection so that maybe I won’t burn if I’m in the sun for a longer period of time. Who knew I was also giving myself a healthy dose of vitamin D with this method?

What does vitamin D do for us? Vitamin D helps the body absorb calcium and balance phosphorus. It prevents things like rickets and bone-thinning disorders. It might also help your hair, according to wikipedia.

How to get it

You can take vitamin D supplements, but D3 isn’t from a vegan source. D2 is vegan and likely just as effective as D3. Sunshine is best for everyone. Vitamin D is found in a lot of fishy foods (also not vegan), but soymilk is fortified with vitamins A and D.

In sum, try to get 15 minutes of sun a day, and then use the sunscreen to prevent skin cancer. (We’ll post about some not-tested-on-animals sunscreens when that topic becomes relevant to Ohio. lol) Since we rarely see the sun this time of year, double check your foods to be sure you’re getting some vitamin D, and a supplement with vitamin D might not be a bad idea.

The Kind Life has a good discussion of vitamin D.

About Terra Milo

Terra Milo is Your Computer Girl. She believes that technology runs on energy, so when you're creating websites and emails, you are literally sending energy to your potential clients. Make sure that energy is confident, positive, and enlightening! Terra teaches coaches and entrepreneurs all the computer skills they need to launch their business and spread their mission in the world. From websites to newsletters to social media, she will empower you with skills and confidence so you can infuse your messages with inspiration and love. www.terramilo.com

One thought on “Vitamin D

  1. I love this! Vitamin D is so important, but those who know me know how I feel about protecting your skin from the sun. Wrinkles and skin cancer.. no thanks lol

    Love your idea Terra. In the past I have always put sunscreen on before I go out but perhaps in the future Ill wait a few more minutes!

Your kind thoughts...

