Naturally beautiful.. and moisturized too!

Along with buy nothing new, one of my new years resolutions ( yes I know I am a month late in sharing this with you) is to only use beauty products (make up, lotions, hair products, etc ) that are natural and not tested on animals. although it may be hard to see the benefits in only using natural products, believe it or not you can really tell a difference… not to mention you’re not hurting any critters in the process. Whats better than that? 🙂

Believe it or not, this is not a hard goal to fulfill and you will be shocked to find out that products like these can even be found in your own grocery store! There are plenty of places where you can shop but I am going to share with you a couple of my favorites!

The Body Shop: This is a company that I cannot say enough about. Not only are all the products in the store vegan and natural, they are also fair trade! I know many people are reluctant to buy products like these because they might think they are more expensive but you will be shocked to find out how comparable the prices are to other specialty stores. Their body butter, what they are most known for, only runs at about $16.00 and lasts so long.. not to mention the container can serve many purposes once emptied. I like to use it to carry food in my lunch box since it is small and compact, I have also used it as a portable water dish for my dogs when I take them to the park in the summer. Way cool! If you do not want to reuse the containers, some of the stores will even recycle them for you if you return them when they are empty.

Besides the awesome products they also are doing a fabulous job at staying green. All of their plastic bags are biodegradable and the bottles that the products come in are 100% post consumer recycled plastic! Not to mention, as of 2010 they are a carbon neutral retailer!

Currently, they are partnering  a campaign with the Somaly Mam Foundation that helps stop sex trafficking! ( something I am über passionate about)

PS the palm oil in their soaps comes from only sustainable sources so that no rainforests are being cut down! YAY for orangutans!

Garden Botanika: Another one of my favorites! It can be compared to the body shop in price. I get my perfume from there and have gotten some lipsticks! The lipsticks come in a really neat miniature tube, you get the same amount as you would anywhere else, they are just being sure to use less packaging!

Lush:  Lush carries soaps, shampoos, lotions, and make up! All of their products are natural and produced in sustainable ways with fair trade ingredients… and for those of you who do not use palm oil, their soaps do not contain any of it!  Also, 70% of their products are totally unpreserved.When it comes to their packaging, they give customers the option to take their products home naked, aka without packaging! For those that prefer  packaging the bottles used are made out of 100% recycled plastic and their plastic bags are compostable. For more information on their green policies click here.

Here are some ideas if you are looking for something cheaper and still want to make a difference:

St. Ives: All of their products are natural and are not tested on animals. Their packaging is made from 20% PCR which means that their bottles can be recycled after they are used. I adore their apricot face scrub and, for those of us who are still using soap, I recommend their oatmeal and shea body soap and lotion! It smells amazing!

They also have some great facial skin care products. Their anti-aging moisturizer runs just over $3.00 and its huge!

Hard Candy: This company is a make up company that does not test on animals and quite a few of their products are completely vegan. The reason I think it is important to share this brand with you is for the fact that it is now carried at Walmart and can be a real steal for what you are getting out of the product and can be found right around the corner!

Remember: There are many other brands out there that meet my qualifications, these are just a couple of my favorites.

See how easy it is to shop green, kindly, and feel pretty too 🙂

PS- If you are currently using other products and decide to try this with me, please be sure to finish your current supply first so that nothing goes to waste!

2 thoughts on “Naturally beautiful.. and moisturized too!

  1. The cost thing used to bother me when I would buy my favorite soap – Dr. Bronner’s – but I finally realized the cost equals out because it lasts so much longer than your typical Zest Bar or something….

  2. That’s such a great idea to use the containers for snacks!
    My favorite is the hemp body butter. I put it in a smaller container so I can keep it in my purse (plus, you don’t have to buy a bunch of small containers… get the big one and put it in small containers yourself – saves packaging and money!).
    Lush is so fun. I like their solid shampoo/body soap. What a cool idea, and it allows you to avoid having to take out your liquids when you go through airport screening – cause you have no liquids. Muuhaaahahahhahah

Your kind thoughts...

