Carbon Offsetting

I’m going out of town for a week. My husband and I are flying to Europe to visit my friend and see the world! I have thought about it, and decided to offset the emissions that we create on our trip. Carbon offsetting means that we will contribute some money based on our consumption to offset the emissions.

Honestly, I have mixed feelings about carbon offsetting. Like recycling, it allows us to consume more or create more emissions because “I’ll just recycle” or “offset my carbons.” The other reason I don’t like carbon offsetting is because we don’t have choices – we don’t have renewable energy. If I could choose a cleaner airplane, I would. Oddly enough, that brings me to why I have decided to offset the emissions of this trip, and all other flights I take.

Flying generates harmful emissions. So, I have chosen Carbonfund.org to offset my emissions for this trip. Carbonfund has 3 projects: Renewable Energy, Energy Efficiency, and Reforestation.

My “offset” contribution will go toward research and development of renewable energy. I want to see more energy choices, and I hope that my contribution will add to that ideal. It really doesn’t cost a lot to offset a trip to Europe.

If more people do it, perhaps some alternative fuel will emerge at prices regular consumers can afford. Next time to you take a trip, or if you don’t want to reduce your energy consumption, consider offsetting your carbons. There are many companies that can help you do this – just Google it.

While I’m gone, I’ll have a few posts about some exciting events in April. So, keep checking back. Also, if you comment, it will take while to be published, so I thank you for your patience.

About Terra Milo

Terra Milo is Your Computer Girl. She believes that technology runs on energy, so when you're creating websites and emails, you are literally sending energy to your potential clients. Make sure that energy is confident, positive, and enlightening! Terra teaches coaches and entrepreneurs all the computer skills they need to launch their business and spread their mission in the world. From websites to newsletters to social media, she will empower you with skills and confidence so you can infuse your messages with inspiration and love. www.terramilo.com

Your kind thoughts...

