Cliche New Year’s Post

I don’t like lists or resolutions, but it’s fun to reflect on what we’ve learned and look for new goals. I like to do this throughout the year, but New Year’s Day is as good as any, so here are a few lists and resolutions or something. These are some off-the-top of my head ideas, in no particular order. I’m sure I’m leaving stuff out, so please add your ideas in the comments.

5 Best Things for the Environment
1. Reusable bags, bottles, etc
2. Bikes
3. Locally grown food
4. Know and reduce energy consumption
5. Reduce your water use

5 Worst Things for the Environment
1. Cars
2. Meat
3. Plastic – bottles, bags, everything
4. Sprawl/bad land development
5. Apathy/ignorance/invented needs like “disposable” everything

Best Christmas Gifts
1. Long Way Down
2. Wind-up L.E.D. headlights (thanks mom)
3. Knitting needles
4. Flashing dog collar

My Goals
1. Take shorter showers
2. No cookies
3. Pay cash, not credit card

I think education is our best tool to save energy (and money).

I’m not thrilled with the “green” label because now companies can slap the word “green” on anything and people will buy it. How about eco-responsibility? Something like that.

Now I’ll get back to the purpose of this blog – sharing things that other people are doing to save energy, money, resources and reduce our impact on the planet. I hope you had a wonderful holiday. I’ve been off work and it’s been so nice to not work on the computer for a few days.

About Terra Milo

Terra Milo is Your Computer Girl. She believes that technology runs on energy, so when you're creating websites and emails, you are literally sending energy to your potential clients. Make sure that energy is confident, positive, and enlightening! Terra teaches coaches and entrepreneurs all the computer skills they need to launch their business and spread their mission in the world. From websites to newsletters to social media, she will empower you with skills and confidence so you can infuse your messages with inspiration and love. www.terramilo.com

One thought on “Cliche New Year’s Post

  1. Terra, Happy New Years to you & my favorite son~in~law, Greg. I love your lists’. They are pretty much like mine. I am a list maker. I always make a list so I don’t forget things but then I forget where I put my list, Ha!
    My best gift if a water bottle which I love! Thanks Terra.
    My Goals: Hmmmm I am going to have to think on that one. I do have to admit I could take shorter showers, I love showers hot so it’s hard sometimes for me to take shorter ones. I have made it a goal and I’m doing pretty good at it……..I don’t use a hair dryer to dry my hair anymore. I let it air dry and it seems healther.
    Eat less meat. I am now using my juicer full time. I am actually on day 4 of total juicing for my breakfast and lunch, snack meals and eating salad and rice for dinner. I am going to have a Magic Burrito for dinner tonight.
    I also am planning on growing more veggies this spring for my juicer. The juicing is sooooo good and I am already feeling healthier.
    How’s that for a start? I will think of more.
    Oh Yeah, the reuse grocery bags. When I forget to take my bag into the store, which I rarely forget to take it, I force myself to buy another. Then I give them away to people filled with special things.
    Have a good day Terra!
    mom

Your kind thoughts...

