Black Friday goes Green (the terra not terror gift guide)

treeI wrote about Green Giving a few weeks ago, and since today is “Black Friday,” I thought I’d review some perspectives on giving green gifts.

What Would Jesus Buy? is a new movie warning about the over-commercialization of America. Reverend Billy of the Church of Stop Shopping suggests a few ways to save Christmas. Choose Fair Trade gifts for your green friends. Remember to visit The Market Path in Highland Square for some beautiful, inexpensive Fair Trade merchandise.

If you’re looking to go green this holiday season, check out TreeHugger’s How to Go Green gift guide. There are ideas for new parents, DIYers, gardeners, fashionistas, and just about everyone else. Don’t miss the Holiday Tips, which will help you save energy and money by buying local, what kind of Christmas tree to get, and how to decorate with green in mind.

Ideal Bite also has some excellent gift ideas. Use the search box at the top to find green gifts of all shapes and sizes.

A gift of “experience” is always nice – give your loved ones a gift certificate to their favorite restaurant, tickets to a play, or think outside the box and buy them a day at a “paint your pottery shop.” Experience gifts are special because people don’t often treat themselves to a good time, so now’s your chance to show them they’re special and deserve the best.

Everyone in my family can look forward to Fair Trade gifts, or things that will help them reduce and reuse! Give something your loved one will enjoy, and that will be kind to the planet at the same time.

About Terra Milo

Terra Milo is Your Computer Girl. She believes that technology runs on energy, so when you're creating websites and emails, you are literally sending energy to your potential clients. Make sure that energy is confident, positive, and enlightening! Terra teaches coaches and entrepreneurs all the computer skills they need to launch their business and spread their mission in the world. From websites to newsletters to social media, she will empower you with skills and confidence so you can infuse your messages with inspiration and love. www.terramilo.com

3 thoughts on “Black Friday goes Green (the terra not terror gift guide)

  1. Great tips! I love the treehugger ideas too! This year I will be wrapping as many gifts as I can in re~useable bags that I’ve been collecting at various stores. They are no more than 99 cents a piece. I will be using re~useable twine or cloth napkins. And, to dress it up I will be tying in a fancy little spatual, measuring spoons, wine or bottle opener or any little gatchet that the gift receiving person might need or love to have.
    Happy Holidays!

  2. What great ideas. I like the “experiential” type gifts. We gave a few of those presents last year and the feedback was so appreciative. There are so many places in town that people we know would like to visit but don’t always get around to going because tickets need to be purchased and other more important things take precedence.

    Thanks for the inspiration to do more of the same this year!

  3. This weekend I had a little girl knock on the door asking for food donations for the food bank. She must have only started as she had nothing in the ‘plastic’ store bag she carried. I told her I would be right back. I grabbed one of my many many use again cloth grocery bags and put a few cans of this and that and some rice and noodles in. I handed it to her and took her plastic and told her the re useables are much nicer to carry and they don’t break. The look on her face was awesome. She was so excited and the light bulb went on! I have a few more bags ready just in case I get more collectors to the door.
    * I sure love the fact that the store gives me a nickel for every re usuable bag I bring in. I think I made 25 cents this weekend.

Your kind thoughts...

