Friday Recipe: Spanish Bean Stew

I found this recipe in a wonderful cookbook I got for my birthday. I’m surprised at how easy the recipes are.

Spanish Bean Stew

olive oil
yellow onion, chopped
2 cups vegetable broth (we used 1/2 broth, 1/2 water)
1 carrot, chopped
1 leek, white part only, halved, rinsed, and coarsely chopped (leeks are like onions)
2 tsp Spanish or Hungarian paprika
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 lb green beans, trimmed and cut into 1 inch pieces
2 cans kidney or pinto beans

1. Prepare the onions. In a large saucepan, saute onions until soft and translucent, about 8 minutes. Remove from heat and transfer 1/2 of the onion to a blender. Add the broth, process until smooth, and set aside.

2. Finish the stew. Return the pan to medium-high heat and heat the remaining 1 TBL oil. Add the carrot and leek to the remaining onion and saute until the leek is tender, about 5 minutes. Reduce heat to medium and stir in the paprika and garlic, and cook, stirring for 1 minute. Add the green beans, kidney beans, and pureed onion broth, and cook, stirring occasionally, until the beans are tender-crisp, 8-10 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper (which we never have to use, divide among soup bowls and enjoy.

Williams-Sonoma Food Made Fast: Vegetarian

About Terra Milo

Terra Milo is Your Computer Girl. She believes that technology runs on energy, so when you're creating websites and emails, you are literally sending energy to your potential clients. Make sure that energy is confident, positive, and enlightening! Terra teaches coaches and entrepreneurs all the computer skills they need to launch their business and spread their mission in the world. From websites to newsletters to social media, she will empower you with skills and confidence so you can infuse your messages with inspiration and love. www.terramilo.com

3 thoughts on “Friday Recipe: Spanish Bean Stew

  1. Trying to reduce our meat intake has been a little bit of an uphill battle. My daughter the carnivore and my husband-he-with-little-willpower are not helping matters much.

    This morning my son asked when I was going to make that great multi bean chili again (your recipe from a few weeks back). Well anyone who compliments my cooking gets to set the menu. I’ll try this recipe on the weekend since I know #1 son and I will enjoy it and that’s 50% of the vote!

  2. Sharon,
    I’ve got some great recipes with fake meat. I’ll do one of those next. One friend of mine used to have hamburgers all the time. Now he has Boca burgers – they taste, look, and feel so much like real meat, it’s hard to tell the difference, and they are so much healthier and don’t leave you with that heavy feeling. There are also ground-beef look-a-likes that can be easily substituted into recipes. One time, I made a Hamburger Helper Stroganoff, using the fake meat, and it looked so much like real meat that I wouldn’t eat it – I had to give it to my roommate. Funny!

  3. I agree. The meatless meat you are talking about does in fact look just like meat as well as the texture. I feel weird eating it but I remember that it is not meat and I do feel better after eating it. No one in my family knows and they love it, thinking it’s just hamburger.

Your kind thoughts...

