What does green mean to you?

What is your “green dream”… home, car, job, food, etc?

What would you like to do better?

What green idea do you want to learn more about?

About Terra Milo

Terra Milo is Your Computer Girl. She believes that technology runs on energy, so when you're creating websites and emails, you are literally sending energy to your potential clients. Make sure that energy is confident, positive, and enlightening! Terra teaches coaches and entrepreneurs all the computer skills they need to launch their business and spread their mission in the world. From websites to newsletters to social media, she will empower you with skills and confidence so you can infuse your messages with inspiration and love. www.terramilo.com

14 thoughts on “What does green mean to you?

  1. I would like to learn more about the simple things that High Schools around the U.S. are doing to teach their students to become active in aiding the environment, as well as Fair Trade doodads. Thanks for this opportunity Ms. Terra.

  2. To me, green means wanting less, having less, living a simpler life. It’s not about deprivation, but just being less materialistic. What’s really important in life? For me, it’s not “stuff.” I try to reduce my impact on the planet, which saves energy and money at the same time. Green is also about choices. We should all have choices when it comes to energy, and I think our country and our planet would be better off if we could choose sustainable energy.

    My green dream home has geothermal, combined with radiant heat floors, and solar for electric (but thin solar, not 20 ft of photovoltaic panels). I like passive solar energy, and more natural building materials, which provide more efficient insulation. My dream car is electric, which plugs into my renewable energy home. Job… I would like to help my employer become a regional leader in sustainability and renewable energy – we have the ability.

    I would like to do better at using my drying rack for my clothes, and remembering my reusable bag every time. I should prioritize insulating my house to save heat, but that’s expensive, so that will be done another day.

    I like to learn about practical ways we can all reduce our impact. I would like to learn more about some of the exciting technology that’s being developed to help us with that goal. I have a few more Bioneers posts, then it’s back to the stories about innovation and simple ways to live eco-responsibly.

  3. ~What is your “green dream”… home, car, job, food, etc?~
    My green dream would be the same home as Terra’s, especially the radiant heat floor, my feet are freezing right now! I wish I could just ride a horse but I would opt for an electric car. My job would be what I’m doing now, my antique furniture refinishing out of my home. I love taking in orphan furniture and making it a beautiful piece that someone else will love for years. Food, I would love to really have wonderful salad gardens. My goal for next year is to have my front porches full of hanging salad baskets, tomotoes, lettuce, beets, etc.
    ~ What would you like to do better? ~
    I would like to insulate my home better. I can sometimes feel the cold come through our walls and right to my bones. I am a pretty good recycler. I guess I would love to be better and teaching others about the importance of recycling.
    ~ What green idea do you want to learn more about? ~
    The green idea I want and will learn more about is my future house & car. I want to learn more about how to help our community to understand and make this a better place. That would be to be huge participants in the recycle. Use and Re`Use.
    Good topic Terra.

  4. I’m so excited for you to have nice gardens/vegetables. Unfortunately, I can’t grow vegetables in my yard, but I’m going to grow herbs, oh, and upside down tomatoes.

    Remember, the first part of the 3 R’s is REDUCE. Recycling is nice, but it’s the last resort. First we need to reduce, then reuse, and then recycle. You are in such a great area where recycling is a priority. Now we all need to transition to reduce and reuse.

    I can’t wait for when these green homes and cars are normal, and gas stations are few. You’ve got a good car for your job. I hope my next car is diesel so I can use vegetable oil instead.

  5. Interesting…nothing about water — NE Ohio bias? Green here seems to mean winter insulation first, and recycling second…and that’s it. “Green” seems to have a regional definition: around Atlanta right now, Green would probably be water conservation first and everything else second.

    There is an electric car currently available. It has a 35 mile radius and is freeway-speed capable (I wouldn’t drive it on the freeway, but that is just me). Unfortunately I have to drive from Cleveland to Sandusky every week to meet with a client (150 miles roundtrip); I actually do better in a Dodge Caliber than in a Prius which is NOT great on the highway and since I have to transport heavy items frequently, the battery cycle on a Prius would be wrecked and I would be on its underpowered gas engine. I am too old to be around for the success of any of the alternatives to internal combusion, but walk and take RTA whenever possible (not just convenient.

    In general, I agree with Terra that the first step is the one most often forgotten or ignored in this country: REDUCE. The second is REUSE (refinishing orphan furniture is a great example of this. Only THEN do we RECYCLE.

    And how many of you have weaned yourself from the travesty of bottled water??

  6. Thanks Dennis. You’re right about water conservation. With our nationwide drought, water is critical. Bottled water uses more water to create the bottles than actually goes into it. Crazy! Re: water, I use a rain barrel to water my garden instead of using city water. We’ve discussed water frequently here.

    Which electric car are you talking about? The electric cars that are currently available aren’t cost-feasible for most people. 35 miles is perfectly fine because most Americans drive less than 20 miles per day. Even if it’s not practical for you, it should be an option. I’ve driven one that wasn’t safe for my cut-throat daily commute, and others I’ve looked at aren’t good in snow. So, more needs to be done for electric cars to be realistic.

    The Prius and Civic Hybrids get over 40 mpg on the freeway. And their batteries last well over 5 years. All NYC taxis are converting to hybrids, and those that have converted have not had any battery problems – and they drive all day, so the battery worries are unwarranted. The best thing I’ve noticed about my hybrid is that it shuts off when I come to a complete stop, and restarts effortlessly when I take my foot of the brake. Why can’t all cars do that?! Other than that, it’s basically an automatic. I want a no-gas car.

    I think I’ve posted enough about bottled water to convince most of my readers to stop buying it – it’s a waste of money, plastic, and water.

    The other thing that “green” means to me is choices. We should all have a choice in what energy we use. Currently, we don’t have real choices. And the options that are available are unrealistically expensive.

  7. I don’t know of more than a couple of electric cars commercially available in the US — and none is practical or safe. I drove the Gizmo (made in Eugene Ore, but no longer available)…it was a 1 passenger car and lots of fun, but unable to climb the hills surrounding Eugene, much less get me from downtown Cleveland up to the Heights. This feature (!lol) was the cause of the demise of electric cars in the 1910’s… The other one I have driven is made by Myers Motors of Tallmadge (www.MyersMotors.com)… more power, but no bumpers.

    Power is the real problem with electircs…and hybrids for that matter. The more power you want in electric, the more battery you need, which adds weight, which means more time recharging, more time the gasoline motor is on, etc. And this is why hybrids with the current technology are all very small…the Ford Escape (a small SUV) gets no better mileage than my Caliber by the EPA stats, and the one person I know who owns and drives one says that the EPA estimates are even more off than usual…it is that hill-climbing-and carrying-more-weight issue that all electrics are prone too.

    The reason that all cars can’t stop and then restart effortlessless is that you do not start a hybrid on the engine, but on the motor and electrics start immediately with no surge. The time when a gasoline engine has its worst performance is on start-up — it actually uses less gasoline to idle for a couple of minutes than to turn the engine off and then restart.

    But in a more general, philosophical sense, I am intriguied by the conflation of “green” with “energy use”. Surely green means more than that…

  8. “it actually uses less gasoline to idle for a couple of minutes than to turn the engine off and then restart.”
    That is not true and I have seen many sites that say so. It takes more gas to idle for 10-30 seconds than to turn it off and back on. Do you have a source? Here are my sources:
    Daily Fuel Economy Tip
    Canadian Natural Resources
    Earthday.com
    Int’l Network for Sustainable Energy (pg. 21)
    Consumer Energy Center

    I’ve mentioned more than just energy in my definition of “green.” Reduce, reuse. Want less, use less, etc.

    Thanks for stopping by. I hope you check out some of the other posts that address some of the issues you’re wondering about.

  9. Source for the idle? Many — AAA, SAE, Click and Clack, Department of Energy, all the car manufacturers, etc. It is the problem of internal combustion engines…or the old steam engines as well, that starting is always more energy intensive than running, and the colder the ambient temperature the worse it is.

  10. You clearly haven’t researched those sources, and I don’t believe you unless you provide links. I provide links so that my readers know I’m not making stuff up – they can check my sources.

    So that I don’t waste more of my time, I’ve researched one of yours for you:
    Click & Clack tip: Stop your idling 3/4 down the page
    They also wrote to Congress about emissions standards and praised stop-start technology.

  11. I too was an automobile engineer. I too believe in starting and stopping — but not at lights unless you know how long you will be stopped for. The Internet as a source of information is not my cup of tea…

    I will be loggin off and not returning

  12. It’s true that things on the internet lose credibility when people write things and don’t cite their sources.
    Thanks for stopping by.

Your kind thoughts...

