Green Week

NBC Universal is celebrating Green Week by featuring some “green” aspect in all of their shows, and other media outlets. Check out Green is Universal for some tips on greening your life, and what your favorite shows are doing to highlight the environment this week.

My new favorite channel is Sundance. I think we’re getting is a a “preview,” so it will disappear from my tv soon, but in the meantime, I’ve enjoyed “Big Ideas for a Small Planet,” a documentary on “mom & pop shops” last night, and other thought-provoking tv shows and movies. It’s good that “green” ideas are creeping into entertainment, where they could have far-reaching effects. People spend a lot of time watching tv, and if they can learn a little bit about helping the environment, that’s great.

Take a few minutes out of your day for a fun little game called “Build your green home.” You can choose all the alternative energy sources you want to build a home for $100,000.

NBC’s Green is Universal site is getting their tips from Ideal Bite, a site I visit regularly. Today’s tip is to cut expenses (and production) by sharing big-ticket items with your neighbors. Does everyone in the neighborhood really need a lawn mower? Probably not. What happened to sharing? We can learn a lot from our neighbors, and cut production and energy consumption literally in half by sharing with just one other person. In my neighborhood, one guy mows 3 people’s lawns (older ladies) with his riding mower, and I learned about my reel push mower from my neighbors. It not only brings about a sense of community, but it saves a lot of energy, so talk to you neighbor… Share your extra-long ladder, your snow-blower, or your hedge trimmer.

About Terra Milo

Terra Milo is Your Computer Girl. She believes that technology runs on energy, so when you're creating websites and emails, you are literally sending energy to your potential clients. Make sure that energy is confident, positive, and enlightening! Terra teaches coaches and entrepreneurs all the computer skills they need to launch their business and spread their mission in the world. From websites to newsletters to social media, she will empower you with skills and confidence so you can infuse your messages with inspiration and love. www.terramilo.com

6 thoughts on “Green Week

  1. I am so excited. Almost every channel, every program is promoting Green Week. A local shopping store even showed a mountain of plastic bags that one family throws out to trash and then they show the bags that you should be using. Strong, use forever and easy to carry. Before I started carrying in my bags I would get so frustrated as I was almost to the front door and the bag would break. It’s late, you are tired, want dinner, kids are hungry, grrrrrrr. Now I get so many comments and compliments on my bags. I have two huge bags I got for a buck each from the hardware store and it fits so much food in it and the cashiers love it because it is fun to pack.
    Use your bags. When you unpack your groceries, put your empty bag with your keys and purse and put them right back in your car. If you forget your bags when you have a cart full of groceries and you are ready to check out and you all of a sudden remember. Force yourself to go out to your car and get the bags you forget. No one will touch your groceries and pretty soon you will remember. I love it!!!

  2. That’s a good idea to put your keys with your bags. I kept forgetting my bags, and finally I would unpack them and immediately put them in front of the door so I would have to take them back to the car the next time I go outside. It’s so nice to have reusable bags.

    Mom, I found out today that recycled park benches are made out of milk carton plastic, not plastic from pop/water bottles. Those are made with some kind of compound that they can’t recycle into benches. That’s disappointing… it sounded like a good idea, but I guess there are a lot of milk jugs out there too.

  3. Okay, another commercial. The average family will throw out 400 plastic bags. Hang those on the wall side by side so you can see the big picture, if you must. And if you have 3 cloth, strong, beautiful bags, they will last a year and then some. Put extra’s in all your cars. Okay, I’m done. Can you tell I love this subject.

  4. Have you seen the Bring Your Own Bag site? It’s pretty cool. You’re right about having to see the bags. People don’t realize their impact until they can see it and it becomes tangible. Every little bit helps.

  5. I did and it’s so cool. I forgot to mention one more plus about using your very own bag (s). When I use mine at the stores I get five cents back everytime for every bag I bring. If I was to use 400 plastic or paper that the store packs my groceries in, I get nothing but a guilt feeling after I get my groceries put away and I’m holding the bag. When I use just one of my bags which would equate to 400 store bags/year I am getting $20. back from the store a year. The bags only cost $1. I’m earning $19. Make sense?

Your kind thoughts...

