Public Transportation

subwayUsing public transportation does more for the environment than “weatherizing a home, adjusting a thermostat, switching to compact fluorescent light bulbs and replacing older appliances with higher efficiency models, combined” according to a new report by the American Public Transportation Association.

It would also help Americans lose weight and stay in shape, if they have to walk a few blocks every day, instead of going from house to car to work to car to house.

Imagine all the reading, knitting, or just relaxing you could get done by taking a train or a bus. I hope to one day live in a city with a subway system – what a brilliant form of transportation. Some subway systems are even attempting to harness the power of footsteps to power the station’s lights and sound system!

So, if you can, consider taking public transportation. If you need help finding bus routes, check out Google Transit, which will lay out the public transportation route (including how far you would have to walk) for some cities.

About Terra Milo

Terra Milo is Your Computer Girl. She believes that technology runs on energy, so when you're creating websites and emails, you are literally sending energy to your potential clients. Make sure that energy is confident, positive, and enlightening! Terra teaches coaches and entrepreneurs all the computer skills they need to launch their business and spread their mission in the world. From websites to newsletters to social media, she will empower you with skills and confidence so you can infuse your messages with inspiration and love. www.terramilo.com

4 thoughts on “Public Transportation

  1. In Wilsonville, Oregon right now there is heavy construction going on in this little town. They are building a transit system which will connect our little town to Portland and Salem. Wilsonville is smack in the middle. I drive school bus and drive through middle of the construction area everyday and it’s amazing to see the step by step assembly of it. I am excited for it and plan on taking it to different parts of the city. I have a difficult time driving to malls and such because I have no patience for parking in huge malls and sitting at red lights while only 2 or 3 cars make it through a green. I believe a big part of this will be done by Christmas. I will be one of the promoters of this new transit system.

  2. If only we could allow our scientists and engineers to work on ideas such as this. Instead, we have them working on ways to convert vegetables into more fuel for more autos to clog the highways.

    How I wish we had an inter-urban high speed transit system here in OH that could connect Toledo, Cleveland, Akron/Canton, Youngstown, Dayton, Columbus, and Cincinnati. I’d be taking it to Cleveland on a regular basis to attend shows. As it is now, I more often than not choose not to drive myself up there and back in my gas-burning vehicle.

  3. Mom, I’m so jealous that you will have public transportation linking Portland and Salem. I wish we had something like that for Cleveland and Akron! I remember driving with you in Sherwood and I would pull my hair out if I had to drive in that traffic every day. I’m glad I have a 10 minute drive, but I wish my neighborhood was safer so I could take the bus.

    Village Green, I am with you 100%. I love going to Cleveland, but it’s such a pain to have to drive up there. How relaxing it would be to have someone else drive… and less expensive.

    Speaking of scientists and engineers… I’ve been hearing about how young people are all going into bu$iness instead of science. It’s a shame. We need good scientists in the US. And not just to work on the next drug (to curb the effects of the other drug), or the next non-renewable energy source… Real scientists who can come up with totally new ideas, or biomimic ideas from nature. (not sure biomimic is a verb, yet 🙂

Your kind thoughts...

