Hurricane Sandy comes to Ohio

And Hurricane Ohio Edison comes to my backyard.

We don’t normally get hurricanes in Ohio. But, as we continue to resist the realities of climate change, extreme weather and severe storms have become more common. After Hurricane Sandy battered the East Coast, she headed west through Pennsylvania and Ohio. I was going to tell the whole drawn-out story, but I’ll sum it up quickly like this: a neighbor’s tree fell perfectly into the V of another tree, but was hanging precariously over some power lines. So, the power company sent some contractors to take care of the tree. That didn’t solve the problem – destroying nature rarely does – so Ohio Edison came and hacked through our yard once again. Power was restored late Wednesday night. We’re still not sure what the trellis had to do with anything, but we’re all glad the tree didn’t fall in any other direction. It would have hit someone’s house, or greenhouse, or fence.

Terra's Birthday, 2012

This is just the top. The bulk of the tree is along the fence.

At first, it’s kind of fun to dig out the wind-up flashlights and find your way around the house in the dark. By the second night, it’s just boring. Then, the fridge starts smelling funny. We felt very cut off from the world. Now that we’re back, I feel moved to give.

Hey, if you are wearing clean and warm undies right now, give some money to the Red Cross today and pay it forward!  – Paula Pell

One thing I tried to learn from the situation is that the garden was destroyed whether I was sad, angry, or indifferent. It did me no good to be unhappy or happy. The yard won’t get cleaned up if I’m moping. So for me, it’s best to just accept the reality of the situation and get to work. Others faced much greater devastation, and their journey is more difficult, but the best we can do is accept the situation and help each other.

I hope you’re safe!

About terra

I live in Akron, OH with my husband, 2 cats and 1 dog. I enjoy travel, vegan cooking, and learning something new every day.

One thought on “Hurricane Sandy comes to Ohio

Your kind thoughts...

