Slugs!

slugOur garden is full of slugs. Full! I found one in the vegetable garden and tons of them in the front yard… the flower garden. So sad. Yesterday, I found at least 5 in the seed starter that I lazily left in the greenhouse. There goes $30, as I’m not about to pick the slugs out. I just threw the whole thing away. Yuck! I’ve got to get rid of these plant-eating pests, but how?

Pesticides may be effective, but then birds will eat the slugs and be harmed by the pesticides. No can do. Here are some more natural ways to get rid of slugs. I’ll try a few and let you know how it goes.

  • Pick them off and throw them in some soapy water
  • Sprinkle salt on them (this seems cruel so I’m not doing to do this)
  • Bury a container filled 3/4 with beer near where the slugs hang out. They’ll climb in to drink it, and they won’t climb out. (sure, they’ll die, but they’ll be drunk and happy when they go) I might try this water bottle slug trap.
  • Pour coffee grounds around the plants slugs like. Or spray the plants with coffee. I’ve been using the Mr’s coffee grounds, but if you ask, Starbucks will give  you their coffee grounds!
  • Lay a plank of wood (or sugar-water soaked newspaper) on the garden at night. Flip it over in the morning and slide the slugs into the trash.
  • Place citrus rinds around the garden at night. Slugs will crawl in and you can dispose of them in the morning.
  • frog

    Toad? I hope he’s a slug-eating toad!

    Attract toads like that little cutie to the right.

  • Don’t kill rove beetles or lightning bugs. They eat slugs and slug eggs.
  • Ducks! Ducks eat slugs.
  • Water the garden in the morning.
  • Put some cornmeal in a jar and lay it on its side. The slugs will crawl in to eat, but they won’t crawl out, if you know what I mean.
  • Spread playground sand around plants that slugs like. They don’t like the sand. (sand isn’t great for a garden, but it’s not too bad either)
  • Plant things with red leaves. Slugs don’t like red leaves. Huh.

Be sure you set your traps and bait at night when the slugs come out. Then harvest the slimy beasts in the morning. Ew. I’m not looking forward to that part.

Thanks Gardensalive.com, How to get rid of things, Wikihow, Instructibles. And of course, Lifehacker.

About terra

I live in Akron, OH with my husband, 2 cats and 1 dog. I enjoy travel, vegan cooking, and learning something new every day.

8 thoughts on “Slugs!

  1. I tried cornmeal and beer. Beer worked the best. In fact, the little guy in the picture is trying to join about 20 of his buddies in the PBR pool.

  2. I’ve done the beer trick and waaaaaay back (as kids) we used to put salt on them. Horrible method – I don’t like slugs but I don’t want to watch them suffer either. Funny, this is one pest Oklahoma seems to have very few of.

    • I’m glad you don’t have them now. I was surprised that we have so many after our hot, dry spring.

  3. I did beer in a pie plate and it worked wonderfully. I don’t think they cared. I bought the cheapest 6 pack and it lasted all summer.

  4. That’s so sad. Same here girls, did the salt method and it’s horrible, even if you don’t stand there and watch our silly minds won’t let it go either, salt is out. I think my favorite might be the plank of wood. I would then put it somewhere for the birds and ducks to have at it. I had three runner ducks a couple years ago and would take the slugs to them. What a feast. And the silly part is why is it ok for me to see the ducks eat up but not the salt dissolve…..

    • I like the plank idea too. It’s so efficient, and the birds will get them in the morning. It’s better for ducks to eat them because they’re getting a benefit. There’s no benefit to pouring salt on them.
      I wonder if the birds will eat the beer-logged slugs that I left out for them!

  5. Isn’t that toad the cutest?! He’s bigger now and he lives along the side of our house by the back door. Pretty close to the vegetable garden, but that’s too out in the open. My dog thinks she wants to eat him. We gave him a toad house, but he doesn’t use it.

    • I’m now wondering if the beer slugs would be a good or not so good thing for the birds. They might do strange drunk things that wouldn’t be safe for them….. The toad is adorable. Just the other day I was out in my back yard and a lizard like creature was crawling on the ground very close to the fence. When I said, ‘hey you little guy, what are you doing here’, he actually stopped and looked up at me and said, I live here ‘little’ girl, what are you doing here? Then he ran off as my dog approached……

Your kind thoughts...

