Recipe Friday: books

In keeping with Britt’s post on Lent, I’d like to share a few of my favorite vegetarian or vegan recipe books, in case you’re looking for some fun meatless meals.

The Kind Diet was a lifestyle changer for me. I had been a strict vegetarian/sometimes vegan until a friend recommended this book. The writing is fun… a real page-turner. The facts are compelling. And, the recipes are delicious! They take a little courage, but you won’t be disappointed. For example, I’m not a bit fan of salad (Britt has witnessed me throw a tantrum over a piece of kale), but the way veggies and greens are prepared in this book make them super tasty. The dessert recipes are amazing. There is no deprivation in a vegan or superhero diet!

Supermarket Vegan is my favorite recipe book right now. It never fails. You can find ingredients for all the recipes at your grocery store, not some exotic foods market. And, they’re easy and delicious!

Vegan Express adds an interesting flavor and combination of foods to your weekly menu. Nava Atlas also wrote The Vegetarian 5-Ingredient Gourmet. The dishes in both books are creative, simple, and delicious. I turn to Vegan Express especially for rice and salad recipes.

You can check these books out at the library, or share some of your favorite books in the comments. We’re always looking for good cook books.

About terra

I live in Akron, OH with my husband, 2 cats and 1 dog. I enjoy travel, vegan cooking, and learning something new every day.

Your kind thoughts...

